MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY

Woolfolk Building Jackson Mississippi

Board Meeting

August 9, 2013

Minutes

Members Present:

C. Gerald O'Brien, Ph.D.	Credentialing Coordinator	2009-2014
Angela J. Koestler, Ph.D.	Executive Secretary	2008-2013
Philip Cooker, Ph.D.	CE Coordinator	2008-2013
Pamela Banks, Ph.D.	Treasurer	2007-2012

Also Present:

Hy Crocker	Board Administrator
C. Nina Jannik, Ph.D.	Board Assistant
Mardi Allen, Ph.D.	Board Consultant

Not Present:

Lloyd (Rob) Roberson	Lay Member	2007-2012
Onetta Whitley, Esq	Board Attorney	
Karen Christoff, Ph.D.	Recording Secretary	2011-2016
Jefferson Parker, Ph.D.	Chair	2010-2015

Chair's Call to Order:

Dr. Koestler called the meeting to order at 12:10 p.m. She asked if there were any changes or additions to agenda. None were offered.

Approval of Minutes:

A motion was made by Dr. O'Brien, seconded by Dr. Cooker to accept the minutes from the last meeting. The motion passed unanimously with Dr.Christoff, Dr. Parker, and Mr. Roberson absent and not voting

A motion was made by Dr. O'Brien, seconded by Dr. Bank discuss the need to go into Executive Session to discuss candidates and complaints. The motion passed unanimously with Dr. Parker, Dr. Christoff and Mr. Roberson absent and not voting.

A motion was made by Dr. O'Brien, seconded by Dr. Banks to go into Executive session. The motion passed unanimously with Dr. Parker, Dr. Christoff and Mr. Roberson absent and not voting

Actions Taken in Executive Session:

Applicants

The following individuals who took orals this day were approved licensure:

Katherine Lee Dixon-Gordon Crystal Lynn Carrio Christina Isabel Williams Aradais D. Oliveros Joseph J. Griebler Erin E. Dehon Megan F. Freeman

The following individual was approved to take the EPPP:

Joye Anestis

The following individuals were approved to take the orals in November:

Daniel Johnson appling as a Sr. Psychologist Walter Ware

Prior approval of Orals (Pending)

Christopher Brophy 2//8/13 Post Doc Verification Form Lore Dickey 5/3/13 approved for August waiting to take in November

Complaints

In case 03132013 the Board is sending a cease and desist order to the individual who claims to be a <u>psychologist and is in fact an LPC.</u> recommendation by the investigative committee to move forward with formal hearing.

In case 05242013 the investigators found no cause to sanction. Dr. Banks made a motion, seconded by Dr. O'Brien to close the case. The motion passed unanimously with Dr. Christoff, Dr. Parker and Mr. Roberson absent and not voting.

Renewals & CE Report for 2013

Dr Cooker reported that Three hundred and ninety have renewed their license.

Dr. Cooker reported that thirty three psychologists have submitted all the CE documents of the random audit for 2013 and eighteen as of today had not submitted the required documents the deadline for submitting information is August 19th after that date he will remind those who have not responded to do so ASAP.

Dr Cooker reported that all of the Board approved CE provider has submitted all the required audit information and have been reapproved. List as follows

VA Gulf Coast Health Care System
University of Mississippi Medical Center/VA Medical Center Consortium
University of Southern Mississippi (USM)
Mississippi State Hospital
University of Mississippi (Ole Miss)

Other Business

The Board discussed the upcoming MPA meeting and the lunch and learn session and what each person would discuss

The upcoming legislative session was discussed with Natalie Gaughf, Molly Clark and Penny Smith Foster from MPA. It was decided to ask that the repealer clause be changed to 2016 and the rest of the statute be left alone.

Adjournment:

A motion to adjourn was made by Dr. Banks seconded by Dr. O'Brien and passed unanimously, with Dr. Christoff, Dr. Parker, and Mr. Roberson absent and not voting. Meeting was adjourned at 1:10.

Next Board Meeting will be held during the MPA meeting in September 13, 2013.

Karen Christoff, Recording Secretary

Carin and off

Date